Senate probes efforts by Nigerian govt to contain spread of Lassa fever

The Nigerian Senate has begun moves to probe the spread of Lassa Fever in fourteen states.

The Senate asked its Committees of Health and Primary Health Care and Communicable Diseases to investigate steps taken by the Federal Ministry of Health to curb the spread of Lassa fever in Nigeria.

The Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, while addressing the issue said that the failure of the Senate to look into the matter makes the lawmakers look like they were giving up on their responsibilities.

The affected states are Edo, Ondo, Ebonyi, Nasarawa, Imo, Kogi, Bauchi, Anambra, Benue, Federal capital Teritory, Abia, Ekiti and Delta.

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.