Merit Award 2016: Buhari to present N20m to two Nigerians

The Chairman of Nigerian National Order of Merit Award Governing Board, Etim Essien said the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari will be giving Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) Award to two recipients: Professor Sadik. A. Omowunmi for the highest creative activity in Science and Professor Tanure Ojaide whose specialty is in Humanities.

Essien said Buhari will have the honour of performing the investiture on Thursday 1st December, 2016 at the Presidential Villa.

The Chairman of the Governing Board who had also won the award in the past said a price of 10 Million Naira would be handed over to the recipients and they will also enjoy some benefits.

Essien said the yardsticks for nomination of candidates for the award are based on the unique academic intellectual contribution they have shared with Nigerians (and the world), how the contribution has impacted Nigeria (and the world); and that the contribution must be unique to the Nigerian context and be able to solve problems.

He also said people can nominate probable recipients of the award and those who think they deserve the award can also nominate themselves.

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.