Attaihiru Jega bows out of INEC, hands over to Mohammed Wali

Prof. Attahiru Jega on Tuesday bowed out of office as Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

He handed over to Mohammed Wali, a national commissioner of the INEC from Sokoto State, whose five-year tenure will also expire on August 11, 2015.

Jega was appointed chairman of the commission by former President Goodluck Jonathan on June 30, 2010.

He conducted two elections – 2011 and 2015.

Speaking briefly at the end of the closed-door handing over ceremony at the Commission in Abuja,  Jega said the future of the country and commission was bright.

He said he was grateful to God and the country for the opportunity to serve.

He said, “We feel great; we thank God Almighty for the opportunity to serve the country. The future is bright for the commission and the country.”

Secretary to the Commission, Mrs. Augusta Ogakwu, confirmed to journalists that Jega handed-over to Wali.

Wali is expected to act pending the appointment of a new chairman by President Muhammadu Buhari.

She also added,  “We believe we will soon hear what will happen next from the president.”

Ogakwu said, Jega, while handing over, encouraged the commission to keep the flag flying.

“Jega said in whatever we have achieved, we should keep it up and do more, adding that there is still a lot to be done,” she said.

Jega left the commission with six national commissioners whose tenures also expired on Tuesday.

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.