Acting President Osinbajo: Why I rejected Currency Conversion Bill passed by NASS

Acting President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, has written to the House of Representatives, saying he has withheld assent to four bills passed by the National Assembly.

The bills are Dangerous Drugs Amendment Bill 2016, National Lottery Commission Bill 2016, Agricultural Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund Amendment Bill 2016, and Currency Conversion Freezing Order Amendment Bill 2016.

Professor Osinbajo gave several reasons for the rejection of assent to the bills and said the bills have been returned to the National Assembly.

“Dear Honourable Speaker,

Re: Withholding of assent to Currency Conversion Freezing Order Amendment Bill 2016

Pursuance to Section 58(4) of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended, I hereby convey to the House of Representatives my decision to withhold assent to the Currency Conversion Freezing Order Amendment Bill 2016 recently passed by the national assembly.

The rationale for withholding assent to the bill is the concern regarding modalities for the communication of assets forfeiture orders.

Distinguished Senate President, please accept the assurances of my highest consideration.

Professor Yemi Osinbajo

(Acting President),” the letter read.

Osinbajo had last week assented to seven bills passed by the legislature.

Speaker Yakubu Dogara, who read Osinbajo’s letter to representative members during plenary on Wednesday, further welcomed a decamping member from Akwa Ibom state – Emmanuel Ukoete, who moved to the All Progressives Congress (APC) from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.